20th Annual Indiana Sprint Week Opener Captured By Stanbrough

Lawrenceburg, IN: After winning last years final three Indiana Sprint Week events, bullring artist Jon Stanbrough was the class of the field as the annual dirt track speed festival kicked off Wednesday night on Lawrenceburg?s 1/3 mile clay oval. Stanbrough, who seems to do a great deal with very little, trounced a healthy 47 car field, and is looking forward to completing a Lawrenceburg 2-day sweep tonight.

In Thursday?s 30 lap feature, the early battle for the lead was waged between pole winner Brady Bacon and semi-winner Daron Clayton. Meanwhile, sixth starting Stanbrough had found something on the high side, and quickly moved to third.

By the tenth lap, Stanbrough?s basically unsponsored DRC/Foxco sprinter had disposed of Clayton for second and closed quickly on front-running Bacon, driving the Kasey Kahne Mopar house car. On lap 15, Stanbrough blew by Bacon, high, wide and handsome coming off turn four to assume command. At this point, it appeared that the battle was won.

One former Indiana Sprint Week champion, however, had other ideas.

Almost unnoticed, Dave Darland had climbed from his twelfth starting spot to Stanbrough?s rear bumper as the white flag flew. The leader stuck to the high side, while Darland attempted to sneak by on the bottom, but came up a few feet short at the finish line. Brady Bacon held on for third, followed by Chris Windom and a charging Darren Hagen.

Indiana Sprint Week is off and running. This is going to be fun?

Share Button