WoO At I-96 Speedway June 4th

World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series return to I-96 Speedway in Michigan on June 4

LAKE ODESSA, Mich. — May 24, 2016 — The World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series returns to I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Michigan for the 10th straight year on Saturday, June 4 for the Rumble in Michigan. The series visited the now-three-eighths-mile, which was a half-mile for many years, for the first time in 1995. The Rumble in Michigan marks one of just two races for the series in the “Great Lakes State” in 2016.

Last year, Brad Sweet won for the first time at the track over seven-time and defending series champion Donny Schatz, who was in the midst of a five-race win streak. Sweet used a massive slide job on a late race restart in turns one and two on lap-29 to take the lead from Schatz. Along with Sweet and Schatz leading laps, 20-time series champion Steve Kinser also paced the field from the pole for the first 15 circuits.

Schatz won at I-96 Speedway for the first time in his career in 2014. Joey Saldana, Paul McMahan and Jason Sides each have won once with the series at the track. Saldana, who holds the one-lap track qualifying record at I-96 Speedway, scored his first career World of Outlaws main event win at the venue in 1995. Six different drivers have visited victory lane in the last six events for the series at I-96 Speedway.

Sweet will enter the event at I-96 Speedway as the current series point leader, as he chases his first World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series title. Schatz is currently second, on the strength of a series-best seven A-Feature wins. Daryn Pittman, the 2013 series champion sits third in points and has a trio of wins thus far in 2016.

Saldana is currently fourth in points as he continues to close in on 100 career World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series A-Feature event wins. Shane Stewart, who drives for the Larson Marks Racing team, which is co-owned by NASCAR driver Kyle Larson, rounds out the top-five in the series standings.

Also in action on Saturday, June 4 in the Rumble in Michigan will be reigning Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award winner Jason Johnson, who will be making his debut at I-96 Speedway, after missing last year’s event due to an injury. Young drivers David Gravel, Logan Schuchart and Jacob Allen will all be in competition as well.

A pair of drivers are contending for the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award in 2016 with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series. Greg Wilson from Ohio, a two-time Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions title winner is contesting the full World of Outlaws schedule for the first time in his career. Also, teenager Clyde Knipp from Missouri, who recently graduated high school is chasing the rookie title.

Advance tickets for the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series event at I-96 Speedway on Saturday, June 4 can purchased online at or by phone by calling: 815-344-2023. On race day, the ticket booth will open at 4 p.m.

For more information on tickets, visit
Twitter: @SLS_Promotions
Facebook: SLS Promotions LLC

Share Button