Tulsa Inductions Draw Large Crowd For National Midget Hall Of Fame Ceremony

Friday?s 24th Annual National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Tulsa, Okla. drew a large audience for the first presentation held in conjunction with the annual Chili Bowl Midget Nationals.

?We were extremely pleased with the turnout and the results of today?s event,? said Hall of Fame President Bill Engelhart. ?The Chili Bowl organizers were very supportive of our efforts and we look forward to returning next year and for the foreseeable future.?

Held in the Livestock Complex of the Ford Truck Arena on the Tulsa Fairgrounds, the event honored 10 individuals for their contributions to the sport of Midget Auto Racing and they will be enshrined in the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame at Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wis c.

The 10 honored included the four ?traditional? inductees as well as six additional from the 1934-1955 era. Six drivers, two car owners, a promoter and an official comprised the ?Class of 2007.? They are Jack ?Curley? Mills, Roscoe ?Pappy? Hough, Danny Kladis, Lloyd Ruby, Walt Faulkner, Dick Ritchie, Ken Brenn Sr., Fred Gerhardt, Ed Watson and Carl Marchese.

Brenn and Ruby were present for their inductions, while acceptors on behalf of the others were: Ralph WIlke (for Marchese), Judy Fuss (for Hough), Ken Clapp (for Mills), Duane Gerhardt (for his grandfather Fred), Ron Canterbury (for Kladis), Jack Housby (for Ritchie) and Bill Marvel (for Faulkner and Watson). Johnny Rutherford assisted in the presentation to his longtime racing friend and fellow Texan Ruby.

Emcees Pat Sullivan and Dave Argabright meticulously detailed each inductee?s career and orchestrated the presentations. A screen also displayed images of the inductees and other memorable Hall of Fame members and vintage Midgets were on display on both sides of the stage.

Distinctive shadow box plaques were distributed to the acceptors who spoke briefly and posed for photos following the event.

Attendees included 2007 USAC National Midget Champion Jerry Coons Jr., USAC National Sprint Car Champion Levi Jones, former USAC champion Gary Bettenhausen, Hall of Fame member Jason Leffler, Badger Midget Champion Brad Kuhn, and other Chili Bowl participants and Hall of Fame members.

Luncheon was served to the attendees who participated in ?bench racing? both before and after the affair.

Share Button