The Hoosier Hundred Returns To The Indiana State Fairgrounds May 22

Rain interrupted last year’s change of date for the traditional “Hoosier Hundred” in Indianapolis, Ind. Originally scheduled for a departure from the normal Friday night tradition, the race was rained out on Thursday night and held on Friday. This year, the Thursday night date has been re-instituted to minimize conflicts with other “race-week” events in central Indiana.


Opening the four-day barrage of motorsports events in the racing capital, the 100-mile USAC Silver Crown Championship race on the historic one-mile oval has a checkered history not unlike the Indianapolis 500. As a matter of fact, Indianapolis 500 winners Bob Sweikert, Jimmy Bryan, Rodger Ward, A.J. Foyt, Parnelli Jones, Mario Andretti and Al Unser all have their names engraved on the Wolcott Cup, emblematic of victory in the Hoosier Hundred.


The Indiana State Fairgrounds actually hosted a 100-mile National Championship race in 1946 won by Rex Mays, but the Hoosier Hundred tradition began seven years later when Sweikert emerged the winner in a four-car blanket finish.


The ensuing years have produced some of America’s most revered motorsports memories, including last year’s emotional victory by Levi Jones after years of trying to win. Jones actually led 99 laps of the 2006 race before eventually finishing second to teammate Josh Wise.


This year’s race is round three of an 11-race series schedule incorporating both dirt and paved ovals. The series will be coming off the May 17 USAC “Hall of Fame Classic” at Lucas Oil Raceway where 12 inductees will be formally inducted into the Hall of Fame.


The two races five nights apart will certainly have a profound impact on the 2014 points race.


Kody Swanson of Kingsburg, Calif. captured the April 6 “Sumar Classic” at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track, positioning him atop the early series standings. He was fourth in the 2010 Hoosier Hundred after starting 35th and finished fifth in 2012.


Former race winners Dave Darland and Jerry Coons Jr. will return to try to grab yet another victory on the mile oval.


The Hoosier Lottery Grandstand opens at 3 p.m. on May 22 for the Hoosier Hundred with practice at 5 p.m., qualifying at 6 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m. UMP modifieds will also race. To purchase tickets, please call 217.764.3200. For more information go to or www.hoosier100.



Share Button