Speed 2 For 2 In GRC

Scott Speed Takes Second Consecutive Red Bull Global Rallycross Victory of 2014 at X Games Austin

LOS ANGELES, CA (June 7, 2014) – For the second time this season, Scott Speed and Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross have claimed victory in Red Bull Global Rallycross, winning Saturday’s event at X Games Austin. Speed took his second X Games gold medal in as many years over first-time rallycross medalists Bucky Lasek and Nelson Piquet Jr.

“Plan A worked to perfection!” an overjoyed Speed exclaimed after the race. “We had a really bad qualifying draw, and I think our best performance of the week was qualifying second. That set the tone—that let us know that we had the pace again. Then it was just on to me not making mistakes, and we were able to do that in every single heat race.”

Speed swept all five of his race sessions, earning victories in both heats, the quarterfinal, and semifinal before making his way into the final. There, he outlasted the field by driving a clean race as Piquet took the joker twice to earn a penalty and Liam Doran spun in the final corner. Those incidents allowed Lasek, who had earned the 10th seed and was viewed as a long shot coming in, to take his first Red Bull GRC podium with a clean second place.

“It was intense—that was the hardest fought medal that I’ve ever had to work for,” said Lasek. “It brings me to tears, I’m just holding them back. My team gets more credit than I do, they work so freaking hard to do the best they can, and we finally have great equipment. We’re making it happen race to race.”

The limited six-car final gave numerous newcomers the opportunity to assert themselves as X Games royalty, with rookie Austin Dyne among the drivers. Ken Block, Travis Pastrana, and Brian Deegan did not make it out of the semifinals, while Tanner Foust and Joni Wiman were eliminated in the quarterfinals.

In GRC Lites, Mitchell DeJong became the first two-time medalist in class history by earning gold earlier in the day. DeJong, who earned silver at X Games Los Angeles last year, held off first-time medalist Kevin Eriksson and Austin Cindric, who made his series debut. The race also marked the debut of Colton Herta, the first driver in series history to be born in the 2000s.

Official results from Red Bull Global Rallycross at X Games Austin are as follows:

  1. Scott Speed, #77 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Polo
  2. Bucky Lasek, #81 Subaru Rally Team USA WRX STI
  3. Nelson Piquet Jr., #07 SH Racing Rallycross Ford Fiesta ST
  4. Liam Doran, #33 LD Motorsports Citroen DS3
  5. Austin Dyne, #14 Barracuda Racing Ford Fiesta
  6. Patrik Sandell, #18 Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta ST


Red Bull Global Rallycross returns to action on June 21-22 at Volkswagen Rallycross DC. Tickets for the race can be purchased at while the race will be shown Sunday, June 22 at 2PM ET on NBC.

Share Button