Rolex Series Tests Conclude At Daytona

Daytona Beach, FL ? The Rolex Series concluded three days of tests at the weekend as teams prepared for the 46th anniversary edition of the Rolex24 at Daytona. When the final dropped, the Lexus Riley of Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates co-driven by Rolex champion Scott Pruett, Indy winners Juan Pablo Montoya and Dario Franchitti along with Memo Rojas topped the speed charts with a lap of 1:41.232 seconds achieved in the second round of practice.

Second fastest was the Penske-Taylor Pontiac Riley driven by Indy stars Ryan Briscoe and Helio Castroneves and NASCAR champion Kurt Busch. Their best time was also set in the second practice session at 1:41.758 seconds.

The Michael Shank Racing Ford Riley of A. J. Allmendinger, Ian James, Burt Frisselle and John Pew were third fastest.

The AIM Motorsport Ford Riley of Brian Frisselle and Mark Wilkins took fourth place honors followed by the 2007 Rolex Series championship team of Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty along with NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson and Champ Car victor Jimmy Vasser.

Johnson took his first laps in the car Sunday and more than held his own during his runs. ?These cars are fun to drive,? Johnson said. ?I love the challenge and coming so close to winning it three years ago, I want to win the Rolex24.?

A second Ganassi Lexus Riley steered by IndyCar stars Scott Dixon and Wheldon, Indy Pro Series champion Alex Lloyd and Salvador Doran was the sixth fastest of the Daytona Prototypes.

Twenty-three Daytona Prototypes participated in the session and additional entries are expected for the race on January 26 and 27.

Forty-three GT class teams also participated in the test with the Racers Edge Motorsports Mazda RX8 of Bob and Jim Michaelian and Ken Dobson the fastest car. Their best lap was completed in 1:50.617 seconds.

A Ford Mustang Cobra took second place honors and another Mazda RX8 was third fastest.

In the final practice session, the Riley-Mathews Motorsports Pontiac Riley of Johnny O?Connell, Marc Goosens, Ryan Hunter-Reay and owner Jim Mathews topped the charts with a time of 1:42.3469 seconds.

Share Button