Rhys Millen Wins Red Bull Global Rallycross Daytona

Rhys Millen battles with Scott Speed in Red Bull Global Rallycross at the Daytona International Speedway. [Alison Padron / Red Bull Content Pool]

Rhys Millen became the fifth different winner in six Red Bull Global Rallycross races this season when he took the checkered flag at the inaugural Red Bull Global Rallycross Daytona, held at the historic Daytona International Speedway. Millen, driving for his own Hyundai-backed team, beat Hoonigan Racing Division’s Ken Block and Subaru Rally Team USA’s Bucky Lasek to the line on a hot Florida day.


“To my team, really is where I need to tip my hat,” Millen said. “The car put a huge smile on my face in our test on Monday. We came here and, in the first time all year that we had a track this long, we were very surprised with where we were and how amazing the car brakes and turns into tight corners. That was the recipe to get the job done here.”


Millen, who qualified fourth, overcame a cam belt failure in Friday’s heats to take the win in his semifinal and earn the top starting position in the main event. A strong start enabled him to jump out to a commanding lead, as Block separated himself from the field to make a late charge from second. In the end, Millen’s gap was large enough to preserve the victory, even as his engine failed on the final lap.


In post-race inspection, the winning car was found to have equipment not permitted under section 14-9.1 of the Red Bull GRC rulebook. Upon further inspection by the Red Bull GRC technical team, it was found that this equipment did not provide any performance advantage. The win will stand, but the team will be penalized 50 points and a fine will be imposed by the series.


In GRC Lites, Mitchell DeJong had his second perfect weekend of the season, posting the fastest time in qualifying, winning both of his heats, and taking the main event victory. Alejandro Fernandez and Tyler Benson completed the podium, with each driver earning his best career finish.


Though his four-race podium streak was snapped, Nelson Piquet Jr. maintained his points lead by 40 over Block, who jumped from fifth to second in the championship. DeJong extended his championship lead in Lites to 66 points over Kevin Eriksson.


Full Supercars results of Red Bull Global Rallycross Daytona are as follows:

  1. Rhys Millen, #67 Hyundai/Rhys Millen Racing Veloster Turbo
  2. Ken Block, #43 Hoonigan Racing Division Ford Fiesta ST
  3. Bucky Lasek, #81 Subaru Rally Team USA WRX STI
  4. Patrik Sandell, #18 Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta ST
  5. Sverre Isachsen, #11 Subaru Rally Team USA WRX STI
  6. ​Tanner Foust, #34 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Polo R
  7. Joni Wiman, #31 Olsbergs MSE Ford Fiesta ST
  8. Nelson Piquet Jr., #07 SH Racing Rallycross Ford Fiesta ST
  9. Austin Dyne, #14 Barracuda Racing Ford Fiesta
  10. Scott Speed, #77 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross Polo R
  11. Emma Gilmour, #27 Hyundai/Rhys Millen Racing Veloster Turbo
  12. Steve Arpin, #00 Royal Purple Racing/OMSE2 Ford Fiesta
  13. Pat Moro, #59 Chevrolet Sonic Racing/PMR Motorsports Sonic

Provisional Supercars points through Round 6 of the Red Bull Global Rallycross championship are as follows:

  1. ​Nelson Piquet Jr., 245
  2. Ken Block, 205
  3. Scott Speed, 190
  4. Joni Wiman, 188
  5. Steve Arpin, 170
Share Button