#NWS20Years Sharing Memories of North Wilkesboro Speedway

NORTH WILKESBORO, NC – With the 20th anniversary of the closing of North Wilkesboro Speedway approaching on September 29, 2016 it’s time to dig into the archives race fans.

After 20 years and thousands of photos of videos shared across social media with friends and family of the 50 plus year history of the track among hundreds of racing events we invite you to share collectively where race fans can enjoy together.

Starting today through September 29, 2016 using the hashtag #NWS20Years on Facebook, Twitter or social media sites of your choice you can join in sharing you photos and memories of the history of North Wilkesboro Speedway.

Save The Speedway will be join in both on Facebook and Twitter sharing #NWS20Years content with archived photos we have taken over the years along with select YouTube historical race videos.

North Wilkesboro Speedway opened the doors in 1947 over its racing history running through 1996, 93 NASCAR Premier, four XFINITY Series, two Camping World Truck Series along with countless regional, late model and modified events were contested at the track.

Two NASCAR Hall of Fame winners and NASCAR champions from Wilkes County themselves have won at the track Junior Johnson who amassed four wins as a driver along with 16 as an owner out of his shop in nearby Ingle Hollow, NC along with Benny Parsons the 2017 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductee who’s only win at the track came on October 14, 1979.

#NWS20Years will be the first social media campaign in the historic tracks history to gather seen and unseen photos and footage from the racing years to be shared out to the public for all to enjoy the heritage of racing in Wilkes County where NASCAR very first champion was crowned on October 16, 1949 when Red Byron finishing 16th in the Wilkes 200.

The campaign will kick off using social media by following along on Twitter @savethespeedway and on our Facebook page

About North Wilkesboro Speedway: North Wilkesboro Speedway was opened in 1947 at a dirt track in Western North Carolina by Enoch Staley, and Jack Combs. Hosted NASCAR for 50 years beginning in 1949 with the final race of the very first NASCAR until closing in 1996.

Share Button