Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall Of Fame Dinner

Speedway, IN (May 16, 2009) ? May in Indianapolis is more than a race, its two weeks of events, gatherings and a festival of speed. One of the classiest events on the calendar is the Auto Racing Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Special Recognition Dinner presented by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum and Indianapolis 500 Old-timers Club. The suit and tie event held Friday evening at the downtown Marriott was hosted by local television and IMS announcer, Dave Calabro. The 2009 Hall of Fame Inductees were 1966 ?500? winner, Graham Hill and two-time ?500? winner, Arie Luyendyk. A hall of fame membership medallion was presented to Hill?s daughter, Brigitte who did a wonderful job accepting the award and reflecting on her father?s life and career. Arie Luyendyk the fastest driver ever at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway was presented with the Hall of Fame ring, designed and produced by the famous Tiffany?s. Luyendyk was eloquent accepting the award and made a point to thank many in his career including his longtime P.R. Rep, Dick Miller.

Also introduced were the Indianapolis 500 legends, featuring the 33 legends of the Speedway as selected by a panel of officers and board members of the 500 Old-timers Club.

The List,

Mario Andretti
Michael Andretti
Tony Bettenhausen
Helio Castroneves
Jim Clark
Bill Cummings
Ralph DePalma
Emerson Fittipaldi
A.J. Foyt
Dan Gurney
Janet Guthrie
Ray Harroun
Harry Hartz
Ted Horn
Gordon Johncock
Parnelli Jones
Frank Lockhart
Arie Luyendyk
Rick Mears
Louis Meyer
Tommy Milton
Jimmy Murphy
Duke Nalon
Jim Rathmann
Mauri Rose
Johnny Rutherford
Eddie Sachs
Wilbur Shaw
Al Unser
Al Unser, Jr.
Bobby Unser
Bill Vukovich
Rodger Ward

The Louis Meyer Award is given as a Lifetime Achievement Award. The award is permanently housed at the Hall of Fame Museum at the Speedway. This year?s deserving recipient is Louis ?Sonny? Meyer who is the son of three-time ?500? winner, Louis Meyer. Meyer started rebuilding Offenhauser engines at the age of sixteen has been one of the most sought after ?wrenches? for many years. Now retired, Meyer built engines powered 15 cars to victory in the Indianapolis 500 and Scott Brayton to two pole positions in 1995 and 1996 for John Menard.

A who?s who of auto racing attended the event including ?500? winners, Bobby Unser, Johnny Rutherford, Rick Mears, Helio Castroneves and the aforementioned Luyendyk. Famed Indy Car builder A.J. Watson attended as well as IMS President, Tony George, Vice-President, Joie Chitwood III, Team Penske President, Tim Cindric and Indianapolis 500 Legend, Janet Guthrie. Drivers, Steve Chassey, Eldon Rasmussen, mechanic Ronnie Kaplan and Chris Paulsen of C&R Racing also attended this splendid event. National Midget Hall of Famers, Kevin Olsen and Bob Higman were in attendance as well as Indianapolis Motor Speedway historian, Donald Davidson. The event which had over 400 attendees certainly had many other notable attendees that I?m sure I missed. Many thanks to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and the Old-timers Club for their hospitality.

Share Button