Indiana Icebreaker March 24th Next For Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

WAYCROSS, GA (March 10, 2012) – What has become a spring-time tradition in the Midwest will take place with the running of the “15thAnnual Indiana Icebreaker” on Saturday, March 24th. The event is sponsored by Bryan Bowman Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge of Seymour, IN and will take place at Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, IN. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event will pay $10,000 to win and $800 to start. A large field of drivers from all over the country is expected to compete in the annual event with a strong group of both regional and national stars converging on the 1/4 mile track.

The LOLMDS first sanctioned the event at the Tim and Farrah Keithley-promoted Jackson County Fairgrounds facility in 2006 with 4-time series champion, Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL scoring the victory. Pearson has been joined by other current LOLMDS regulars Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN, Terry Casey of New London, WI, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN and last year’s winner, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN in taking home the Indiana Icebreaker trophy.

Bloomquist will enter the race looking for his fourth consecutive win at the historic half-mile track. Bloomquist, who notched his 500th career win in the 2010 Jackson 100 at Brownstown, has captured the last two Jackson 100’s and the 2011 Indiana Icebreaker. He is coming off of a season where he set a LOLMDS record for victories in one season with 15.

It will be the LOLMDS first-event since the successful DART Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL last month was completed. Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, IL, will come into the event leading the LOLMDS championship point’s standings. 2011 LOLMDS Champion Jimmy Owens is currently in 2nd in the series national points standings and will be looking to earn his first series win of 2012.

While the nation’s premier dirt late model series brings several of the top drivers in the country to Brownstown on March 24th, there will be two competitors racing there for the first time. Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA and Austin Hubbard of Seaford, DE who both will be LOLMDS tour regulars in 2012, will receive their Brownstown baptism against a strong field of national and regional competitors.

“We’re excited to be going back to Brownstown Speedway this year. Tim Keithley and his entire staff are really great to work with and that place always provides some great racing action. Were excited about the 2012 season and our talent pool of drivers that plan to follow the series this year. The level of competition continues to increase every year and it’s always exciting to see the national stars line up against some really tough regional and local racers as we travel across the country. Brownstown just might produce a big upset this year”, stated Ritchie Lewis, series director.

For more information about the “Indiana Icebreaker” you can visit the track website at or call the track phone at (812) 358-5332 or promoter Tim Keithley at (812) 569-1982.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit the series’ website at

Be sure and visit the series on social media outlets as well at and!/lucasdirt.

Previous Indiana Icebreaker Winners

1998 – Tony Izzo Jr.

1999 – Don O’Neal

2000 – Don O’Neal

2001 – Timmy Yeager

2002 – John Gill

2003 – Don O’Neal

2004 – John Gill

2005 – Dan Sturgeon

2006 – Earl Pearson Jr.

2007 – Billy Moyer

2008 – Terry Casey

2009 – Earl Pearson Jr.

2010 – Jimmy Owens

2011 – Scott Bloomquist

Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings
Dennis Erb Jr. (Carpentersville, IL) – 455
Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) – 420
Steve Francis (Ashland, KY) – 415
Randy Korte (Highland, IL) – 395
Jonathan Davenport (Blairsville, GA) – 390
Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) -390
Austin Hubbard (Seaford, DE) – 385
Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) – 360
Donnie Moran (Dresden, OH) – 360
Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN) – 345

Share Button