IHRA’s biggest stars return to Rockingham Dragway for IHRA Spring Nationals May 17-18

ROCKINGHAM, N.C. (May 13, 2014) – The International Hot Rod Association’s (IHRA) Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series returns to Rockingham Dragway in Rockingham, N.C. on May 17-18 for the IHRA Nitro Jam Spring Nationals.

This year’s Spring Nationals marks the return of the IHRA Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series to one of its most historical tracks. On the IHRA national event schedule nearly every season since its inception, this year’s IHRA Spring Nationals will feature competition in five professional classes with qualifying on Saturday, May 17 under the lights and eliminations on Sunday, May 18 all at The Rock

The professional classes will include more than 20 nitro-powered cars in Nitro Funny Car, Nitro Altered and Nitro Harley, plus the return of Mountain Motor Pro Stock and the debut of the fastest women in drag racing – the Larsen Motorsports Jet Dragster racing team. Points and big money are on the line for all of the teams in attendance as the best racers in the world travel to North Carolina for two days of championship drag racing.

The IHRA Spring Nationals is the fifth of 12 races on the 2014 IHRA Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series North American Tour.

WHAT: IHRA Nitro Jam Spring Nationals

AMSOIL Nitro Funny Car
Nitro Harley
Nitro Altered
Mountain Motor Pro Stock
Jet Dragster

EVENT INFO: The 2014 IHRA Spring Nationals will feature the best racers from the world of drag racing in five professional categories. Each day will feature sportsman racing throughout the day and professional racing at night. Nitro Jam professional racing begins at 7 p.m. on Saturday and 1 p.m. on Sunday.

New in 2014, the IHRA will host an all-new FanFest pit area centered around the Larsen Motorsports compound. FanFest will feature driver autographs and interviews, an interactive display showcasing how to build, design and race a jet-powered racecar in the Jet Technology Center and the exciting Hollywood Cars of the Stars collection featuring some of the most famous cars ever driven in film and television including the General Lee from Dukes of Hazzard, the DeLorean from Back to the Future, the Batmobile from the 1960s Batman television series and more.

The FanFest pit area opens at 2 p.m. on Saturday and 10 a.m. on Sunday.

WHEN: Saturday-Sunday, May 17-18

WHERE: Rockingham Dragway | 2153 US Highway 1 North, Rockingham, NC 28379

TICKETS: Available at the gate day of show or in advance at Tickets are $25 on Saturday and $20 on Sunday and kid’s tickets are only $10.

SCHEDULED TO APPEAR (subject to change)

Nitro Funny Car: Mike Halstead “Candies & Hughes,” Mike McIntire Jr. “McAttack,” John Hale “Mike Burkhart Tribute,” Tim Boychuk “Forever Forward,” Jason Rupert “Black Plague,” Mark Sanders “Mr. Explosive,” Bruce Litton “U.S. Male,” Mike Smith, Peter Gallen “Poverty Stricken,” Jake Crimmins “Crazy Jake”
Nitro Altered: Kyle Hough “Nanook,” Ron Hope “Rat Trap,” Ron Maroney “Blind Faith,” Don Blackshear “Bullet Bob,” Terry Haddock “Nasty Benjamin,” Mike Hilsabeck “Arizona Thunder”
Nitro Harley: Jay Turner, Mike Scott, Randal Andras, Larry Brancaccio, Alvin Kubernusz, Mark Cox, Ty Tharpe, Brooke McCabe
Mountain Motor Pro Stock: Pete Berner, Cary Goforth, Todd Hoerner, Kevin Bealko, John DeFlorian, John Konigshofer, Brad Waddle
Jet Dragster: Elaine Larsen, Marisha Falk, Kat Moller, Dawn Perdue


Tucson, Arizona
Nitro Funny Car – Jason Rupert over Mark Sanders
Pro Stock – Cary Goforth over Todd Hoerner
Nitro Harley – Mike Scott over Jay Turner
Nitro Altered – Mike Hilsabeck over Jim Maroney
Jet Dragster – Marisha Falk over Elaine Larsen

San Antonio, Texas
Nitro Funny Car – Jason Rupert over John Smith
Pro Stock – John DeFlorian over Cary Goforth
Nitro Harley – Randal Andras over Jay Turner
Nitro Altered – Ron Hope over Mike Hilsabeck
Jet Dragster – Elaine Larsen over Dawn Perdue

Bradenton, Florida
Nitro Funny Car – Mike McIntire Jr. over Jason Rupert
Pro Stock – Cary Goforth over John DeFlorian
Nitro Harley – Mark Cox over Joey Sternotti
Nitro Altered – Don Blackshear over Brian Hope
Jet Dragster – Marisha Falk over Elaine Larsen

Palm Beach, Florida
Cancelled due to weather


Nitro Funny Car: 1. Jason Rupert, 2. Mark Sanders, 3. Mike McIntire, 4. Tim Boychuk, 5. Bruce Litton
Nitro Altered: 1. Ron Maroney, 2. Ron Hope, 3. Mike Hilsabeck, 4. Don Blackshear, 5. Jim Maroney
Nitro Harley: 1. Jay Turner, 2. Randal Andras, 3. Mike Pelrine, 4. Mike Scott, 5. Steve Dorn
Pro Stock: 1. Cary Goforth, 2. John DeFlorian, 3. Todd Hoerner, 4. Kevin Bealko, 5. Pete Berner
Jet Dragster: 1. Elaine Larsen, 2. Dawn Perdue, 3. Marisha Falk, 4. Kat Moller

SCHEDULE HIGHLIGHTS (subject to change; all times local)

SATURDAY : Sportsman Racing @ 9 a.m.; FanFest Opens @ 2 p.m.; Nitro Jam @ 7 p.m.

SUNDAY : Sportsman Racing @ 9 a.m.; FanFest Opens @ 10 a.m.; Nitro Jam @ 1 p.m.





Share Button