IHRA Nitro Jam Palm Beach Nationals Preview

IHRA Nitro Jam Palm Beach Nationals return to Palm Beach International Raceway this weekend.  [Photo courtesy IHRA]

JUPITER, Fla. (April 29, 2014) – The International Hot Rod Association’s (IHRA) Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series returns to Palm Beach International Raceway in Jupiter, Florida, on May 2 – 3, 2014 for the IHRA Nitro Jam Palm Beach Nationals.

This year’s Palm Beach Nationals marks the return of traditional competition to the IHRA Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series. The event will feature competition in five professional classes with qualifying on Friday, May 2, and eliminations on Saturday, May 3, all under the lights at Palm Beach International Raceway.

The professional classes will include more than 20 nitro-powered cars in Nitro Funny Car, Nitro Altered and Nitro Harley, plus the return of Mountain Motor Pro Stock and the debut of the fastest women in drag racing – the Larsen Motorsports Jet Dragster racing team. Points and big money are on the line for all of the teams in attendance, as the best racers in the world travel to Florida for two days of championship drag racing.

The Palm Beach Nationals is the fourth of 12 races on the 2014 IHRA Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series North American Tour.

WHAT: IHRA Nitro Jam Palm Beach Nationals

AMSOIL Nitro Funny Car
Nitro Harley
Nitro Altered
Mountain Motor Pro Stock
Jet Dragster

EVENT INFO: The 2014 IHRA Palm Beach Nationals will feature the best racers from the world of drag racing in five professional categories. Each day will feature sportsman racing throughout the day and professional racing at night. Nitro Jam professional racing begins at 7:30 p.m. on Friday and 6 p.m. on Saturday.

New in 2014, the IHRA will host a FanFest pit area centered on the Larsen Motorsports display. FanFest will feature driver autographs and interviews; an interactive display showcasing how to build, design and race a jet-powered racecar in the Jet Technology Center; and the exciting Hollywood Cars of the Stars collection featuring some of the most famous cars ever driven in film and television, including the General Lee from Dukes of Hazzard, the DeLorean from Back to the Future, the Batmobile from the 1960s Batman television series and more. In addition, fans at the Palm Beach Nationals will be treated to a special autograph session with the stars of the television show “Hot Rod Reality” with Bubba Lloyd, Tom Lloyd and supermodel Layla Von Athey on Saturday from 1 to 3 p.m. Bubba’s East Coast Rods & Customs will also have a special Bubba Edition Bumblebee TRANSFORMER Camaro on display.

The FanFest pit area opens at 4 p.m. on Friday and 2 p.m. on Saturday.

WHEN: Friday and Saturday, May 2 – 3, 2014

WHERE: Palm Beach International Raceway | 17047 Beeline Highway, Jupiter, FL 33478

TICKETS: Available at the gate on the day of show or in advance at Adult tickets are $25 on Friday and $30 on Saturday while kid’s tickets are only $10.

CONTACT: Call Palm Beach International Raceway at (561) 622-1400 or visit

SCHEDULED TO APPEAR (subject to change)

Nitro Funny Car: Mike Halstead “Candies & Hughes,” Ronnie Young “Blue Max,” Mike McIntire Jr. “McAttack,” John Hale “Mike Burkhart Tribute,” Tim Boychuk “Forever Forward,” Jason Rupert “Black Plague,” Mark Sanders “Mr. Explosive,” Bruce Litton “US Male,” “Candies Family Racing,” John Smith “Jungle Jim,” Mike Smith “Brand X”
Nitro Altered: Kyle Hough “Nanook,” Ron Hope “Rat Trap,” Ron Maroney “Blind Faith,” Don Blackshear “Bullet Bob,” Terry Haddock “Nasty Benjamin,” Brian Hope “Pure Hell”
Nitro Harley: Jay Turner, Mike Scott, Randal Andras, Joey Sternotti, Mike Pelrine, Mark Cox, Alvin Kubernusz, Drums Bronconshio
Mountain Motor Pro Stock: Cary Goforth, Todd Hoerner, Kevin Bealko, John DeFlorian, John Konigshofer
Jet Dragster: Elaine Larsen, Marisha Falk, Kat Moller, Dawn Perdue



Tucson, Arizona
Nitro Funny Car – Jason Rupert over Mark Sanders
Pro Stock – Cary Goforth over Todd Hoerner
Nitro Harley – Mike Scott over Jay Turner
Nitro Altered – Mike Hilsabeck over Jim Maroney
Jet Dragster – Marisha Falk over Elaine Larsen

San Antonio, Texas
Nitro Funny Car – Jason Rupert over John Smith
Pro Stock – John DeFlorian over Cary Goforth
Nitro Harley – Randal Andras over Jay Turner
Nitro Altered – Ron Hope over Mike Hilsabeck
Jet Dragster – Elaine Larsen over Dawn Perdue

Bradenton, Florida
Nitro Funny Car – Mike McIntire Jr. over Jason Rupert
Pro Stock – Cary Goforth over John DeFlorian
Nitro Harley – Mark Cox over Joey Sternotti
Nitro Altered – Don Blackshear over Brian Hope
Jet Dragster – Marisha Falk over Elaine Larsen


Nitro Funny Car: 1. Jason Rupert, 2. Mark Sanders, 3. Mike McIntire, 4. Tim Boychuk, 5. John Hale
Nitro Altered: 1. Ron Maroney, 2. Ron Hope, 3. Mike Hilsabeck, 4. Jim Maroney, 5. Don Blackshear
Nitro Harley: 1. Randal Andras, 2. Jay Turner, 3. Steve Dorn, 4. Mike Pelrine, 5. Mike Scott
Pro Stock: 1. Cary Goforth, 2. John DeFlorian, 3. Todd Hoerner, 4. Kevin Bealko, 5. Scott Hintz
Jet Dragster: 1. Elaine Larsen, 2. Dawn Perdue, 3. Marisha Falk, 4. Kat Moller


SCHEDULE (subject to change, all times local)    

FRIDAY: Sportsman Testing @ 4 p.m.; FanFest Opens @ 4 p.m.; Nitro Jam @ 7:30 p.m.

SATURDAY: Sportsman Racing @ 10 a.m.; FanFest Opens @ 2 p.m.; Nitro Jam @ 6 p.m.






Share Button