Hudson Takes 1st Powri Micros Career Victory At Lincoln

LINCOLN, Ill. (June 16, 2011) – Mike Hudson snapped a streak of disappointing finishes by taking the first victory of his career in the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series in Thursday’s opening event of the Building Systems of Illinois Mini Sprint Nationals at Lincoln Speedway.

“It’s awesome,” Hudson said. “We’ve had a streak of four straight races where we made it to the feature and didn’t see the checkered flag. We’ve been saying we’ve got an Orangutan on our back and this kind of made it jump off.”

Hudson, of Herrin, Ill., had finished last (22nd) twice, next-to-last (21st) once and 15th in four starts this season.

Hudson started on the inside of the second row and chased Jacob Patton and Natasha Cox for the opening half of the 20-lap race on the quarter-mile track. Hudson passed Cox, of Casey, Ill., for second on the 10th lap.

Patton, of Bethalto, Ill., had a commanding lead, but he crashed at the start of the 14th lap, bringing out a red flag. Patton wasn’t injured, but his car was too badly damaged to continue.

Hudson pulled away from second-place finisher Max Pozsgai on two restarts in the remaining seven laps and wasn’t threatened to the checkered flag.

“When you win in against the drivers in POWRi, you’ve really done something,” Hudson said.

Hudson drives for Rick King’s Dirt Kings Racing. Teammates Dereck King and Kara King finished fifth and ninth respectively.

“I’ve been running POWRi for the last couple of years, but this is the first season we’re running the whole season,” Hudson said. “We’ve been friends for a long time and sharing the information on three cars is a big help. Rick King helps with the wrenching and that’s a big help, too. I consider him the best Micro driver ever.”

Pozsgai, of Lincoln, Ill., had his best POWRi finish on his hometown track.

“I’ve had a couple of thirds in POWRi,” Pozsgai said. “We can’t seem to close the deal. It’s nice to know we’re getting closer. POWRi’s level of competition is second to none.”

Trent Beckinger, of Evansville, Ind., finished third, his fifth top-three of the season. Beckinger has been sixth or better in the seven events he’s entered in 2011.

“We got behind the eight-ball early, but we made up for it in the feature,” Beckinger said. “It was definitely a great night. We didn’t do so well in the heat (third), but we really hit it in the feature by going from 11th starting position to third.”

Joe B. Miller, of Millsersville, Mo., finished fourth.

The Illinois Mini Spring Nationals moves to Macon (Ill.) Friday (June 17) and Saturday (June 18). The top six finishers in the feature advance to Saturday’s 33-car feature that pays $2,000 to win.

POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series results: 1. Mike Hudson, 2. Mike Pozsgai, 3. Trent Beckinger, 4. Joe B. Miller, 5. Dereck King, 6. J.B. Gilbert, 7. Andrew Felker, 8. Natasha Cox, 9. Kara King, 10. Paul Nienhiser, 11. Zach Hampton, 12. Jordan Campbell, 13. Ryan Guyett, 14. Spencer Montgomery, 15. Jake Neuman, 16. Andy Baugh, 17. Chad Branson, 18. Kevin Horcher, 19. Casey Swift, 20. Jacob Patton, 21. Derek LeMaster, 22. John Parker, 23. Levi Curry, 24. Austin Brown.

For more information on POWRi Racing, go to

Share Button