Helio Wins Pole For A.J. Foyt 225 at Milwaukee Mile

Under skies that might best be described as ?interesting?, Helio Castroneves and Team Penske captured the Pole for Sunday?s ABC Supply/A.J. Foyt 225 at the historic Milwaukee Mile in time trials Saturday. The IRL?s version of ?Spiderman?, pole winner at Indy last month, held off last week?s Indy 500 runner-up Scott Dixon, who will start alongside Castroneves with a speed of 169.266 MPH.

With storm clouds swirling in the distance, seventeen drivers posted successful runs in short order. The eighteenth entered driver, Jeff Simmons, apparently lost control of his Rahal-Letterman Ethanol car in this morning?s final practice, hitting the safer barrier backwards at the exit of turn two. The car is being repaired, and will be allowed to start last tomorrow.

In perhaps the day?s biggest surprise, Andretti-Green driver Danica Partick timed-in slowest with a speed of 163.566 MPH. Patrick appeared anything but happy following her run. Her teammate, 2007 Indy 500 Champion Dario Franchitti will start tomorrow?s classic from tenth position.

ABC Supply/A.J. Foyt 225 Starting Line-up:

1. Helio Castroneves-Team Penske
2. Scott Dixon-Target Ganassi
3. Tony Kanaan-Team 7-Eleven
4. Dan Weldon-Target Ganassi
5. Sam Hornish Jr.-Team Penske
6. Kosuke Matsuura-Panasonic Panther
7. Buddy Rice-Dryer & Reinbold
8. Ed Carpenter-Vision Racing
9. Vitor Meira-Delphi Panther
10. Dario Franchitti-Canadian Club
11. Scott Sharp-Patron Rahal-Letterman
12. AJ Foyt IV- Vision Racing
13. Toman Scheckter-Vision Racing
14. Marco Andretti-NYSE Group
15. Darren Manning-ABC Supply/Foyt
16. Sarah Fisher-AAMCO
17. Danica Patrick-Motorola
18. Jeff Simmons-Team Ethanol (no time)

See you tomorrow from the historic Milwaukee Mile (AKA: Wisconsin State Fair Park)
– John Atlas

Share Button