Hall Of Famers Headed For Indy May 18

Numerous USAC Hall of Fame inductees are heading for Indianapolis, Ind. May 18 to participate in formal ceremonies prior to the second annual Hall of Fame Classic USAC Traxxas Silver Crown race at Lucas Oil Raceway.

The 2013 class of inductees include drivers, car owners, race organizers, officials and mechanics and most are expected to be on hand or be represented by family members in the case of those now deceased.

Living inductees include Bobby and Al Unser, Johnny Rutherford, Jack Hewitt, Tom Bigelow, Pancho Carter, Earl Baltes, A.J. Watson and Don White. Tony Bettenhausen, Henry Banks and Bob Wilke are those being honored who have passed.

It all leads up to the night’s 100-lap race which features the opening pavement race in the 2013 series.

Defending race winner Bobby Santos is expected to return to the .686-mile paved oval, along with former Lucas Oil Raceway Silver Crown winners Bobby East, Brian Tyler, Tracy Hines, Kody Swanson and Russ Gamester.

It’ll be a festive atmosphere as the Indianapolis community gears up for the fast-approaching May 26 Indianapolis 500. Coupled with the previous night’s Larry Rice Classic AMSOIL USAC Sprint race at Bloomington (Ind.) Speedway and Saturday afternoon’s Pole Day activities at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, it’ll be a weekend for race fans to long remember.

Swanson won the pole for last year’s Hall of Fame Classic and led the first 13 laps before surrendering to Santos. Swanson eventually claimed second ahead of Bud Kaeding at the checkered flag.

Tickets are priced at $20 for adults and $5 for kids and adult tickets will admit holder to pit access starting at 5 pm.

Share Button