Goforth Wins The IHRA San Antonio Nationals

Goforth Takes Over the Points Lead, Larsen Clinches the Championship

MARION, Texas (September 26, 2015) – The San Antonio Nationals Fueled by Sunoco did not disappoint as fans witnessed a points lead change in the Pro Stock class, a new winner in 2015 and the clinching of a championship in the Jet Dragster class.

The International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) returned to San Antonio Raceway for the eleventh Nitro Jam event of the 2015 season. The race was pivotal in determining potential championship winners for the season finale in Memphis in two weeks. The weekend produced many unexpected story lines in all three classes competing for points at the San Antonio Nationals Fueled by Sunoco.

The AMSOIL Nitro Funny Car presented by Aeromotive class was one of the main topics as Mike McIntire Jr. failed to qualify for his first-ever Nitro Jam event since he started racing full-time in 2014. Current points leader, Jason Rupert also had a rough weekend as the 2014 IHRA Champion did not advance to the semi-finals. The championship is still up for grabs as the duo head into the Summit World Finals. John Smith claimed the victory and grabbed his first IHRA Ironman trophy in his “Jungle Jim” Camaro.

John Montecalvo came into the San Antonio Nationals Fueled by Sunoco with the Pro Stock points lead but after a consistent performance by Cary Goforth, the lead changed. Goforth won his first Pro Stock race since the season-opener at Tucson in February. He was the top qualifier and followed it up with a holeshot win against Scott Hintz in the final round. The 6.36 at 221.13 mph placed the 2014 IHRA World Champion in the winner’s circle and gave him the points lead with one race remaining.

Elaine Larsen clinched the 2015 IHRA Jet Dragster World Championship and finished runner-up in Jet Dragster competition this weekend. The 2014 Champion has secured her spot in the IHRA history books prior to heading into the Summit World Finals. Shea Holbrook defeated the newly crowned Champion in the final round after running a 5.92 at 268.98 mph. This marked the first IHRA Ironman win for Holbrook in her first year of competition.

The Outlaw Fuel Altereds joined the professional classes this weekend at San Antonio Raceway. Donny Massey went up against Mary Reep in the final round and took home the win. Massey ran a 3.88 at 187.27 mph against Reep’s 3.96 at 167.16 mph. In addition, Brian Jernigan and Rickey House brought out their Nitro Harley’s and did some exhibition runs for the fans during the two-day event.

The next event on the IHRA Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series schedule is the Summit World Finals featuring Nitro Jam at Memphis International Raceway on October 9 – 10, 2015. Four championships are up for grabs: AMSOIL Nitro Funny Car presented by Aeromotive, Pro Stock, Pro Mod and Nitro Harley; leading into the final race of the 2015 season. Tickets are now available online at

Please click HERE for the round-by-round results from the San Antonio Nationals Fueled by Sunoco.

Share Button