Felker Takes 2nd Straight POWRi West Midget Feature At I-44 Speedway

OKLAHOMA CITY (May 26, 2012)-Andrew Felker successfully defended a spirited challenge by Jonathan Beason to win his second straight feature Saturday in the POWRi Lucas Oil West Midget Series at I-44 Speedway.

Felker’s victory was his fourth straight in POWRi competition. The 19-year-old from Carl Junction, Mo., triumphed in Friday’s POWRi West Midget feature at I-44 in the inaugural event for the sanctioning body in Oklahoma and took the features in the POWRi National Midget Series and POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series last Saturday (May 19) at Peoria (Ill .) Speedway.

Felker started on the inside of the sixth row. He had driven into the lead when Beason, of Broken Arrow, Okla., went underneath him to take the lead on the 26 th of 30 laps. Felker regained the lead with a pass underneath Beason a half-lap later and held it to the checkered flag.

“I felt I could take the car anywhere I wanted,” Felker said. “My confidence level is really high.”

“We had him for half a lap, but couldn’t hold it,” Beason said.

Tyler Thomas of Collinsville, Okla., finished third.

“It was a good run for us,” Thomas said.

It was the sixth event of the season for the POWRi West Midgets, launched this year, and the second not run in conjunction with the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series.

POWRi Lucas Oil West Series feature results (30 laps): 1. Andrew Felker, 2. Jonathan Beason, 3. Tyler Thomas, 4. Chris Bell, 5. Blake Hahn, 6. Tyler Edwards, 7. Austin Brown, 8. Eric Fenton, 9. Karley Dobson, 10. Doug McCune, 11. Garrett Hood, 12. Chett Gehrke, 13. Pat Schudy, 14. Matt Sherrell, 15. Cameron Hagin, 16. Kevin Bayer, 17. Billy Lawhead, 18. Matt Johnson.

For more information on POWRi Racing, go to .

Share Button