Dixon Holds Off Teammate, Wins Mid-Ohio Again

Scott Dixon wins again at Mid-Ohio. © [Andy Clary/ Spacesuit Media]

LEXINGTON, Ohio (Sunday, July 28, 2019) – Five-time NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon made sure his name remains in consideration for the 2019 season title by winning Sunday’s Honda Indy 200 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. But career victory No. 46 required a dramatic last-lap battle with his Chip Ganassi Racing teammate.

Dixon had rookie Felix Rosenqvist charging in the closing laps and in the final pass through Turn 2 they had wheel contact. Both cars bobbled, but they kept them straight, which led to a thrilling run to the checkered flag as Dixon drove with tires that had lost their effectiveness.

The margin of victory was 0.0934 seconds, the closest Indy car finish at Mid-Ohio and third closest on a road course in Indy car history.

“Oh, man, that was crazy,” said Dixon, who drives the No. 9 PNC Bank Honda. “(I was) just a sitting duck … and if I wasn’t his teammate I think he would have (knocked) me off.”

Rosenqvist, chasing his first career win in the NTT IndyCar Series, said the team told him to race hard for the lead while being mindful of Dixon’s position as a teammate and championship contender.

“A bit of a mixed (message),” Rosenqvist said with a laugh.

The driver of the No. 10 Clover Honda was confident Dixon would race him fair, and that’s what he did.

“He’s always on the right level of aggression and safety,” Rosenqvist said.

Said Dixon: “That’s what IndyCar racing is – it produces the best racing in the world.”

Dixon’s 46th career win pulled him to six of Mario Andretti (52) for second place on Indy car’s all-time list. A.J. Foyt ranks first with 67.

Dixon also scored his second win of the season, a record-extending sixth at this 13-turn, 2.258-mile circuit, and allowed Chip Ganassi’s team to break a tie with Newman-Haas Racing for second-most entrant wins in history with 108. Team Penske has won 210.

Chip Ganassi Racing also scored its first 1-2 finish since 2015 at Texas Motor Speedway (Dixon and Tony Kanaan).

Dixon caught a break on the final lap when series leader Josef Newgarden of Team Penske had contact with Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay in a fight for third place on the final lap in Turn 2. The engine on Newgarden’s No. 2 PPG Chevrolet stalled in a sand trap, causing him to finish 14th.

Newgarden’s spin allowed Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi to move up to fifth in the No. 27 NAPA AUTO PARTS Honda and draw to 16 points of the series lead with four races remaining.

“It was my fault trying to force the issue,” Newgarden said.

Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud, who finished sixth driving the No. 22 Menards Chevrolet, is third in the standings – 47 points behind Newgarden – heading to the ABC Supply 500 at Pocono (Pa.) Raceway on Aug. 18.

Chip Ganassi’s team had both fuel strategies covered in the race that went caution-free for the second consecutive year. Dixon completed the 90 laps on two stops, Rosenqvist made it on three.

The podium finish was Hunter-Reay’s first in the No. 28 DHL Honda since finishing third at Circuit of The Americas race in Austin, Texas, on March 24.

The ABC Supply 500 will be broadcast live on NBCSN beginning at 2:30 p.m. ET. Radio coverage will be provided by the Advance Auto Parts INDYCAR Radio Network and SiriusXM Radio Channel 209.

Road to Indy: Askew, Kirkwood complete weekend sweeps

Oliver Askew led all 30 laps from the pole Sunday at Mid-Ohio to cap a sweep of the Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires weekend. Askew cruised to a 5.2430-second victory in the No. 28 Andretti Autosport Dallara IL-15 with Toby Sowery (No. 2 BN Racing/Team Pelfrey) finishing second. Askew has won the past three races and recorded his sixth overall this season.

In Indy Pro 2000 presented by Cooper Tires, pole sitter Kyle Kirkwood led all 25 laps to score his fifth win in the past six races. The driver of the No. 28 RP Motorsport Racing Tatuus PM-18 beat rival Sting Ray Robb (No. 2 Juncos Racing) by 3.4783 seconds. Championship leader Rasmus Lindh (No. 10 Juncos Racing) finished third.

Pole sitter Hunter McElrea executed a flawless race to win the second leg of the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship. Piloting the No. 22 Pabst Racing Tatuus USF-17, McElrea led all 20 laps to finish 0.5652 seconds ahead of Christian Rasmussen (No. 6 Jay Howard Driver Development). Darren Keane (No. 2 Cape Motorsports) won Saturday’s race.

A recap of the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio can be found on INDYCAR’s YouTube channel here:

Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio race results
LEXINGTON, Ohio – Results Sunday of the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio NTT IndyCar Series event on the 2.258-mile Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, with order of finish, starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):
1. (8) Scott Dixon, Honda, 90, Running
2. (6) Felix Rosenqvist, Honda, 90, Running
3. (10) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 90, Running
4. (1) Will Power, Chevrolet, 90, Running
5. (2) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 90, Running
6. (4) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 90, Running
7. (13) Spencer Pigot, Chevrolet, 90, Running
8. (7) Colton Herta, Honda, 90, Running
9. (15) Graham Rahal, Honda, 90, Running
10. (9) Jack Harvey, Honda, 90, Running
11. (5) Sebastien Bourdais, Honda, 90, Running
12. (14) Santino Ferrucci, Honda, 90, Running
13. (18) Ed Jones, Chevrolet, 90, Running
14. (3) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 89, Off Course
15. (19) Marco Andretti, Honda, 89, Running
16. (16) Max Chilton, Chevrolet, 89, Running
17. (22) RC Enerson, Chevrolet, 89, Running
18. (21) Matheus Leist, Chevrolet, 89, Running
19. (17) Takuma Sato, Honda, 89, Running
20. (23) Tony Kanaan, Chevrolet, 89, Running
21. (20) Zach Veach, Honda, 89, Running
22. (11) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 87, Running
23. (12) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 2, Contact

Race Statistics:
Winner’s average speed: 115.837 mph

Time of Race: 1:45:15.6974

Margin of victory: 0.0934 of a second

Cautions: None

Lead changes: 7 among 4 drivers

Lap Leaders: Power, Will 1 – 24, Rosenqvist, Felix 25 – 27, Power, Will 28 – 29, Newgarden, Josef 30 – 40, Rosenqvist, Felix 41 – 45, Dixon, Scott 46 – 59, Rosenqvist, Felix 60 – 66, Dixon, Scott 67 – 90

NTT IndyCar Series point standings: Newgarden 504, Rossi 488, Pagenaud 457, Dixon 442, Power 356, Hunter-Reay 333, Sato 322, Rahal 312, Rosenqvist 296, Hinchcliffe 287.

Share Button