Dillon Scores 6th ARCA Victory At Lucas Oil Raceway

Clermont, IN – Ty Dillon worked overtime and held off Ryan Blaney for his sixth win of the year in ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards competition at the Lucas Oil Raceway. A caution in the closing laps forced the event into three extra laps and a green/white/checker finish. Dillon,an ARCA Series rookie, led the final thirty nine laps to take the win in the Ansell Protective Gloves 200.

The ARCA Racing Series returned to the .686 mile short track of Lucas Oil Raceway for the eighth time in series history. The series first raced at the track in 1971 and hasn’t competed at the raceway in almost 26 years. Dillon joined a list of race winners including Bob Schacht, Davey Allison, Ramo Stott, Marvin Smith, Ralph Latham and Bruce Gould.

Dillon led the field to the green after qualifying on the pole with a lap that set the track record earlier in the day. The opening thirty one laps belonged to Dillon and his Richard Childress Chevrolet. Blaney, son of NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Dave Blaney, started the race in second and took over the lead with James Buescher also getting past Dillon a few laps later.

Blaney continued to lead but, during the second caution period, did not pit as the rest of the top cars did.

Prior to the halfway point, Buescher and Dillon had charged back through the field and were closing in on leader Blaney. Another caution period ensued after Brett Hudson spun in the fourth turn. This time Blaney pitted for four tires and fuel, dropping him back in the pack for the ensuing restart.

One more caution period set up a restart that would result in the race being red-flagged. As the field took the green flag, Tim George Jr. didn’t get going quick enough for Chad Hackenbracht. Hackenbracht ran into the back of George, turning him into the path of Jared Marks and Joey Coulter and leaving the three cars wrecked and blocking the front straight.

When the race resumed, Buescher held the lead followed by Dillon and Blaney. The top three took off to battle for the lead amongst themselves until pitting when the caution again came out on with fifty laps left in the contest. Dakoda Armstrong took over the lead on the restart and led the next fourteen while Dillon, Blaney and Buescher charged back through the field to get to the front of the pack.

Dillon appeared to have the strongest car at the end of the race as Blaney tried to challenge but couldn’t keep up. Buescher held third just a few car lengths behind the front runners.

One more shot at a win for Blaney materialized when the cars of Kenzie Ruston and Ryan Wilson got toether on entering turn one and found the wall bringing out the final caution and setting up a green flag, white flag, checker flag shootout.

Dillon took hold of the lead on the restart and pulled away from Blaney to take the checkers and his sixth ARCA victory of the year.

Blaney, Buescher held second and third with Armstrong and Tom Hessert completing the top five.

With the win, Dillon added to his points lead in the standings with seven races remaining on the schedule. Chris Buescher started the day second in points and fell back to third after finishing 22nd in the race. Frank Kimmel brought home his damaged Ansell-Menards Ford in twelveth and moved into second place in the point standings.

The next race on the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards schedule will take place on August 6th at Pocono Raceway as the drivers contend for the win in the Pennsylvania ARCA 125.

Race Results
2011 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards Event #12
Lucas Oil Raceway, Clermont Indiana, 7-28-11
Ansell Protective Gloves 200

Official Race Report

1 1 41 Ty Dillon/Lewisville NC Hemelgarn-CIPT Chevrolet 203 Running
2 2 15 Ryan Blaney/High Point NC Seal Wrap Chevrolet 203 Running
3 3 4 James Buescher/Katy TX Great Clips Chevrolet 203 Running
4 18 22 Dakoda Armstrong/New Castle IN Cardinal Ethanol-ICM-Murex Dodge 203 Running
5 17 52 Tom Hessert/Cherry Hill NJ Federated Auto Parts Chevrolet 203 Running
6 22 11 Ryan Glenski/Mooresville NC Fast Track Driving School Blue Collar Hero Ford 203 Running
7 7 1 Chad McCumbee/Holden Beach NC ModSpace Ford 202 Running
8 16 02 Josh Williams/Port Charlotte FL SW Florida Cable Constr-Fields Auto Parts Ford 202 Running
9 8 36 Grant Enfinger/Fairhope AL Hoosier Tire Dodge 202 Running
10 20 94 Brett Hudson/Owensboro KY Hudson Performance Drivelines Dodge 202 Running
11 11 25 Max Gresham/Griffin GA Gresham & Associates-Lauren Briant Chevrolet 202 Running
12 10 44 Frank Kimmel/Clarksville IN Ansell-Menards Ford 202 Running
13 21 99 JR Heffner/Pittsfield MA A. Colarusso-Park East Sales Chevrolet 201 Running
14 27 7 Brandon Kidd/Manlius NY Brioschi Chevrolet 201 Running
15 32 34 Darrell Basham/Henryville IN Darrell Basham Racing Chevrolet 200 Running
16 14 58 Chad Hackenbracht/New Philadelphia OH Hampton Farms Chevrolet 200 Running
17 26 05 Spencer Gallagher/Las Vegas NV Allegiant Air Chevrolet 200 Running
18 25 5 Bobby Gerhart/Lebanon PA Lucas Oil Chevrolet 198 Running
19 28 63 Milka Duno/Caracas Venezuela Citgo Supergard Lubricants Dodge 197 Running
20 30 28 Ron Cox/Soddy Daisy TN Fox Realty-Cox Masonry Chevrolet 195 Running
21 6 32 Ryan Wilson/Randleman NC Champion Oil Toyota 193 Accident
22 5 17 Chris Buescher/Prosper TX Reliance Tool-David Ragan Ford 193 Running
23 31 23 Levi Youster/Oak Harbor OH Fox Realty-Hixson Construction Ford 192 Running
24 29 12 Maryeve Dufault/Sorel Quebec Mad Croc Energy Drink-Dodge Motorsports Dodge 183 Running
25 33 48 James Hylton/Inman SC Ford 181 Running
26 23 55 Kenzie Ruston/El Reno OK MelMark Pipe & Supply Toyota 166 Accident
27 24 82 Sean Corr/Goshen NY Roush-Yates Performance Parts Ford 153 Running
28 15 31 Tim George Jr./New York NY Applebee’s-Potomac Family Dining Group Chevrolet 136 Accident
29 9 16 Joey Coulter/Miami Springs FL Rip It Energy Fuel-Darrell Gwynn Foundation Chevy 136 Accident
30 12 8 Jared Marks/Napoleon OH TMR-Dodge Motorsports Dodge 136 Accident
31 4 08 Casey Roderick/Lawrenceville GA Randy Hill Racing Chevrolet 81 Suspnsn
32 19 88 Matt Crafton/Tulare CA Messina Wildlife Management-Menards Ford 75 Suspnsn
33 13 75 Benny Chastain/Tallahassee FL AARP Drive To End Hunger Chevrolet 71 Accident
34 34 10 Richard Harriman/Snohomish WA Double H Ranch Chevrolet 5 Brakes
35 35 06 Mike Harmon/Birmingport AL Wayne Peterson Racing Ford 3 Engine

MRGN OF VICT: 0.676 seconds CAUTIONS: 10 for 56 laps
TIME OF RACE: 1:46:26 AVG SPEED: 78.504 mph
LAP LEADERS: Dillon 1-31, 150, 165-203 (71); Blaney 32-98 (67); J. Buescher 99-149 (51);
Armstrong 151-164 (14)

Share Button