Coons Tops Angell Park Show

Sun Prairie,Wis., June 24—Arizona’s Jerry Coons Jr. captured the 30-lap Badger Midget series feature, Sunday Night at Angell Park Speedway.

Nick Lundgreen jumped into the lead at the start, pacing the first three laps before Justin Alligaier stalled. On the restart Coons moved from fourth to third place and then one lap later moved into second position. Lundgreen and Coons opened up a large advantage over the field. Coons passed Lundgreen for the lead entering turn one on the 11th lap.

Once in front Coons quickly stretched his advantage to a half straightaway, when at the midway point the caution appeared for a spun car. On the restart Danny Stratton flipped escaping injury. With Coons in the lead Scott Hatton moved into second place on the 17th lap. With ten laps remaining Coons held a 1.2 second advantage, however two cautions for stopped cars in the next five laps shuffled the running order.

The final five laps saw Coons hold off series point leader Brad Kuhn by 1.71 seconds to score his second series victory of the season driving the Ralph Wilke owned Spike-Mopar#5. Kuhn, Hatton, Brandon Waelti and fast qualifier Davey Ray completed the top five. Dan Mecum was transported to University Hospital (Madison,Wis.) for observation following a multi-car flip in the semi feature. Kuhn holds a 70 point advantage over Coons heading into the July 1 series event at AngellPark Speedway.

30-lap Feature: 1. Jerry Coons Jr., 2. Brad Kuhn, 3. Scott Hatton, 4. Brandon Waelti, 5. Davey Ray, 6. Nick Lundgreen, 7. Matt Smith, 8. Doug Schenck, 9. Bryan Ramstack, 10. Aaron Fiscus, 11.Steve Sussex, 12. Rob Keelan, 13. Tim Noble, 14. Robbie Ray, 15. Dustin Burkhart, 16. Brady Bacon, 17. Nathan High, 18. Joe Wipperfurth, 19. Chad DeSelle, 20. Danny Stratton 21. Mike Hess, 22. Justin Allgaier

15-Lap Semi Feature: Stratton
10-Lap Heat Race Winners: Hess, Waelti, Coons, Hatton
Fast Time: Ray 14.891 Seconds
Cars Present: 34
Feature Lap Leaders: Lundgreen 1-11, Coons 12-30

CURRENT POINT STANDINGS: 1. Brad Kuhn 671; 2. Jerry Coons Jr. 601; 3. Davey Ray 501; 4. Brandon Waelti 448; 5. Scott Hatton 443; 6. Danny Stratton 423;7.Doug Schenck 358; 8. Mike Hess 355; 9. Aaron Fiscus 336; 10. Chad DeSelle 291

Share Button