Coons, Stockon, Courtney Lead Three-Car Chili Bowl Effort


Wilke-PAK Motorsports will run a three-car effort with Jerry Coons Jr.,  Chase Stockon and Tyler Courtney in the 28th anniversary running of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals, on Jan. 14-18 at the Tulsa Expo Raceway ¼-mile clay oval inside the River Spirit Expo Center in Tulsa, Okla.

Wilke-PAK won the 2005 Chili Bowl Championship with Tracy Hines, while Dave Darland placed third. The team has also recorded ten preliminary night feature wins with six different drivers. A total of 285 entries for the five-day event have been filed.

Coons will be seeking his eleventh straight  Saturday Championship Feature start, the longest active streak among drivers.  Coons has two preliminary feature race wins, with a pair of fourth place his best career among sixteen previous starts.

Courtney, the 2011 Chili Bowl Rookie of the Year, is coming off two sprint car victories during the 2013 season. He also competed in the recent Tulsa Shootout at the track, and last month received his award as the USAC National Sprint Car Rookie of the Year.  The Indianapolis native races on Tuesday Night.

Stockon, makes his second Chili Bowl attempt with the team on Thursday Night, after a banner season which included a fourth place finish in the USAC National Sprint Car Series Points.

Share Button