Byrne Wins Rich Vogler Classic Thriller

David Byrne holds the trophy for winning at Lucas Oil Raceway Indianapolis.  [Mark Walczak Photo]

Clermont, Ind., July 24—David Byrne executed a turn four last lap pass to edge Tanner Swanson and win the JD Byrider 100 Rich Vogler Classic USAC Silver Crown race Thursday at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis.

Byrne, from Shullsburg, Wisconsin, became the 100th different winner in USAC Silver Crown racing history with his victory.

A late race caution set up by Caleb Armstrong’s stalled machine in turn two, allowed Byrne, Ryan Newman, and Kody Swanson to all catch up to steady leader Tanner Swanson to set up the shootout type finish. Over the final laps, Byrne first charged outside of Kody Swanson to grab third and then immediately darted to the inside of Newman for second before tracking down Tanner Swanson out front. On the final lap, Byrne made his charge, edging to the inside of Swanson in turn three and clearing him off turn four to prevail in the charge to the checkered flag.

“It’s really all surreal,” an obviously excited Byrne exclaimed from victory lane, “I couldn’t get out of the corners and under that yellow we had to make a shock adjustment, and we just put it all together and this is just so cool…so awesome.”

“We just missed the set up I guess,” Tanner Swanson stated following his runner up finish after leading a majority of the laps, “I wish we could’ve missed that late race yellow but you try to adjust to what you think is going to happen and sometimes it just doesn’t work out.”

“Me and David (Byrne) have raced clean before and tonight things just got kind of tight,” third place Kody Swanson said eluding to his race long battles with the eventual winner which led to some post race contact on the track, “I guess it’s called being too nice on my part but David did a great job and he’s the one who won race tonight.”

NASCAR Sprint Cup star Ryan Newman made a return to the USAC Silver Crown Series and drove to an impressive fourth place finish while Bobby Santos finished fifth. Chris Windom took the checkered flag in sixth ahead of Jacob Wilson and Bobby East in seventh and eighth respectively. Jarrett Andretti and Ken Schrader rounded out the top ten finishers.

USAC SILVER CROWN SERIES RACE RESULTS: July 24, 2014 – Brownsburg, Indiana – Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis – “J.D. Byrider 100 Rich Vogler Classic”

QUALIFYING: 1. Tanner Swanson, 11, Bowman-21.088; 2. Ryan Newman, 2, Bowman-21.142; 3. Bobby Santos, 98, RPM/Gormly-21.161; 4. David Byrne, 40, Byrne-21.165; 5. Kody Swanson, 63, DePalma-21.188; 6. Tracy Hines, 16, Lightfoot-21.214; 7. Jerry Coons Jr., 20, Nolen-21.396; 8. Chris Windom, 17, RW/Curb-Agajanian-21.399; 9. Jacob Wilson, 07, Wilson-21.453; 10. Bobby East, 10, Stewart/Curb-Agajanian-21.470; 11. Caleb Armstrong, 9, Armstrong-21.504; 12. Ken Schrader, 10k, Stewart/Curb-Agajanian-21.540; 13. Kyle O’Gara, 27, RW-21.587; 14. Jarett Andretti, 4, Andretti-21.592; 15. C.J. Leary, 35, Ferns-21.785; 16. Cale Thomas, 92, Thomas-21.789; 17. Ryan Litt, 21, Team Six-R-22.021; 18. Davey Hamilton Jr., 60, Hamilton-22.083; 19. John Heydenreich, 90, Bank-22.096; 20. Chris Phillips, 99, RPM/Gormly-22.163; 21. A.J. Fike, 3, RFMS-22.186; 22. Davey Ray, 125, Sachs-22.480; 23. Jarid Blondel, 981, Blondel-23.769; 24. Patrick Lawson, 102, Lawson-24.054; 25. John Hunt, 81, Williams-NT.

FEATURE: (100 laps) 1. David Byrne, 2. Tanner Swanson, 3. Kody Swanson, 4. Ryan Newman, 5. Bobby Santos, 6. Chris Windom, 7. Jacob Wilson, 8. Bobby East, 9. Jarett Andretti, 10. Ken Schrader, 11. Davey Hamilton Jr., 12. Chris Phillips, 13. Jerry Coons Jr., 14. Davey Ray, 15. Patrick Lawson, 16. Kyle O’Gara, 17. Caleb Armstrong, 18. Cale Thomas, 19. Tracy Hines, 20. C.J. Leary, 21. Ryan Litt, 22. John Heydenreich, 23. A.J. Fike, 24. Jarid Blondel. NT
FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-99 T.Swanson, Lap 100 Byrne.

NEW SILVER CROWN SERIES POINT STANDINGS: 1-K.Swanson-282, 2-Hines-243, 3-East-240, 4-Windom-204, 5-T.Swanson-165, 6-Santos-159, 7-Wilson-156, 8-Byrne-147, 9-Andretti-139, 10-Coons-132.

NEXT SILVER CROWN RACE: August 1 – Belleville (KS) High Banks – “Hustle on the High Banks”

Share Button