Buescher Salvages ARCA Victory At Daytona

Daytona Beach, FL – James Buescher, 18, staved off the last-lap challenge of Joey Logano, another teenager, to win the wreck-strewn Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200 at the Daytona International Speedway Saturday afternoon. The race marked the opening of the ARCA RE/MAX Series season.

Numerous multi-car wrecks and hard hits destroyed many cars and sent three drivers to the Halifax Medical Center for treatment. They were five-time race winner Bobby Gerhart, Larry Hollenbeck and Patrick Sheltra. Gerhart was released late Saturday but Hollenbeck and Sheltra were kept overnight for observation.

In total, 47 of the 80 laps were run under the caution flag.

One wreck stopped the race just prior to the finish, so rescue workers could extricate Hollenbeck from his badly wrecked car.

When racing resumed, just one lap was remaining. Although Logano and fast qualifier Justin Lofton attempted to draft their way past Buescher, their effort failed.

Texan Buescher drove his Wolfpack Rentals Toyota to victory by a margin of .2 seconds. He led 44 of the laps.

Second went to Logano in the Home Depot Toyota and third to Lofton in the Lofton Cattle Toyota.

“It means a lot to win at Daytona, as Daytona is on top of everyone’s list,” the happy victor said. “On the last lap restart, I knew Logano was coming and I told my spotter not to be quiet. He didn’t and I went up the track and blocked him.”

Logano finished second and he was immediately hustled off to get ready for the Budweiser Shootout.

Said Lofton about his third place finish, “I was disappointed that we were only given one lap to finish the race, as it takes a while for restrictor-plate engines to wind up. Joey Logano and I bump drafted trying to catch Buescher, but I couldn’t do anything other than follow Joey.”

John Wes Townley drove his Ford to fourth place followed by Ken Weaver in a Chevrolet.

Sixth through tenth were Ed Kennedy (Chevrolet), Parker Kligerman (Dodge), Tim George Jr. (Toyota), Darrell Basham (Chevrolet) and Norm Benning (Chevrolet).

Eleven cars finished on the lead lap.

Share Button