Brett Anderson Triumphs In POWRi Midgets, Andrew Felker Wins In Micros At Fayette

BROWNSTOWN, Ill. (June 1, 2012) – Brett Anderson drove to his second victory of the season in the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series and Andrew Felker won his second straight in the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Micro Series on Friday at quarter-mile Fayette County Speedway.

Anderson started from pole and led all 30 laps, but had to fend off stiff challenges from Tyler Thomas early and Darren Hagen late.

“Thomas and Hagen obviously are both real fast,” Anderson said. “I was able to lead the whole way. Our starting position helped us out.”

Thomas ran second for the opening nine laps and took slide-job shots at taking the lead several times including on a restart on lap five following a red flag. But the 16-year-old from Collinsville, Okla., slid back and was passed by Dillon Welch for second on the 10 th lap.

Hagen passed Welch for second on the next restart on lap 21 and had two more restarts to try to get the lead. Hagen’s last chance was with two laps to go and Anderson fended him off and won by two car lengths.

“Hagen showed me his nose a couple of ties and I got up on the wheel,” Anderson said.

It was the 12 th POWRi National Midget victory of Anderson’s career. The 27-year-old from Belleville, Ill., was the POWRi champion in 2008.

Anderson discovered he had a problem-a bad lifter–with his Fontana engine before leaving for the track and contacted Indianapolis-based engine company. Fontana dispatched a mechanic with the part to the track, nearly four hours away, and repaired the motor.

“This win wouldn’t be possible without Fontana doing that,” Anderson said.

Hagen, of Riverside, Calif., started fifth, but fell back at the start.

“I was able to change the shock settings under the red,” Hagen said. “But we didn’t have enough steam to get by (Anderson). I just didn’t get the job done. We could have crashed him, but that’s not our style. Second is better than third.”

Cameron Hagin, of Broken Arrow, Okla., passed Welch on the final restart to finish third, his best career finish in POWRi National Midgets.

“I got around Welch on the top,” Hagin said. “We’ve had a lot of bad luck this season and we finally got a good run. I’m ecstatic about finishing third. I have to thank (car owner) A.J. Felker for the opportunity and (mechanic) Frank Spencer.”

Andrew Felker’s victory in the Micros was his third in five POWRi races this season. It was also his fourth in the past five POWRi races across all three of its three divisions, National Midgets (one), West Midgets (two) and Micros (two). The 19-year-old from Carl Junction, Mo., was running fourth when he spun out with two laps remaining I”n the Midget race and finished 16 th .

Felker started on pole and held the lead through three restarts in the opening two laps. The race ran green for the final 19.

“Our track position made a difference,” Felker said. “I’m definitely proud of the way we’re running in Micros.”

Thomas finished second in his first POWRi Micro race. He was running fourth in the Midget feature when he spun out and he finished 13 th .

“Second in our first POWRi Micro race is pretty cool,” Thomas said.

Jeremy Camp of Blue Mound, Ill., the 2010 POWRi Micro champion, finished third.

POWRi’s Midgets and Micros race Saturday (June 2) at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind. The Midgets will be in the 33-car, 100-lap Hut Hundred, co-sanctioned by POWRi with USAC.

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series feature results (30 laps): 1. Brett Anderson, 2. Darren Hagen, 3. Cameron Hagin, 4. Dillon Welch, 5. Chett Gehrke, 6. Derrick Myers, 7. Austin Brown, 8. Tyler Robbins, 9. Daniel Adler, 10. Darren Kingston, 11. Alex Bright, 12. Tim Siner, 13. Tyler Thomas, 14. Zach Daum, 15. Jake Neuman, 16. Andrew Felker, 17. Daniel Robinson, 18, Garrett Aitken, 19. Dave Camfield Jr., 20. Jake Blackhurst, 21. Mike Hess, 22. Rich Camfield.

POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series (20 laps): 1. Andrew Felker, 2. Tyler Thomas, 3. Jeremy Camp, 4. Aaron Andruskevitch, 5. Derek Schuett, 6. Justin Peck, 7. Joe B. Miller, 8. Cale Thomas, 9. John Plotner, 10. Jacob Patton, 11. Devin Feger, 12. Brad McDaniel, 13. Steven Russell, 14. Jake Neuman, 15. Paul Nienhiser, 16. Zach Hampton, 17. Natasha Cox, 18. Jimmy Wells, 19. Kyle Schuett, 20. Shawn Sears, 21. Will Harvey, 22. Spencer Montgomery,

For more information, go to

Share Button