Acura Team Penske Acura DPi Takes Pole For 12 Hours Of Sebring

IMSA pole winner, Dane Cameron. [Photo by Jack Webster]

IMSA pole winner, Dane Cameron. [Photo by Jack Webster]

By Joe Jennings

SEBRING, Fla. – With Dane Cameron behind the wheel of an Acura Team Penske Acura DPi, the accomplished driver raced to the pole position for the upcoming 67th Annual Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring presented by Advance Auto Parts.

His pole time for his run around the 17-turn road course was 1 minute and 45.865 seconds and he earned his 11th career pole.

Said Cameron, “It’s pretty cool, there is nothing better than the view in the front. It’s super, super proud of this effort. We had a little problem yesterday and our guys were here until like 2 in the morning. They only slept maybe 2 hours. Thank you to them. Penske now has 4 poles on the weekend with what they are doing in Australia, and with what they are doing in IndyCar, so I’m really proud to be a part of the Acura Team Penske.”

Cameron’s co-drivers are Juan Pablo Montoya and Simon Pagenaud.

Starting alongside Cameron will be the Mazda Team Joest Mazda DPi of Oliver Jarvis, Timo Bernhard and Tristan Nunez.

Third fastest qualifier was the second Acura Team Penske of Ricky Taylor, Helio Castroneves and Alexander Rossi.

11 DPi’s are entered.

In the LMP2 class, the Performance Tech Motorsports ORECA LMP2 of Mathew McMurry and Gabriel Aubry earned the pole.

Only 2 teams are here for the LMP2 class.

The Porsche GT Team Porsche 911 RSR took the pole in the GTLM class. Its drivers are Patrick Pilet, Nick Tandy and Frederic Makowiecki.

Eight teams are entered here in the GTLM class.

The Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX GT3 beat out 16 other GTD entries to take the class pole. Its drivers are Mario Farnbacher, Trent Hindman and Justin Marks.

Share Button