A Look At NEXTEL Cup Racing At MIS

Michigan International Speedway has been hosting auto racing for 39+ years. Ronnie Bucknum?s historic win in the 250 mile USAC National Championship Indy Car race in the fall of 1968 opened up a period of growth in auto racing not seen until the 1990?s. MIS has a rich history of hosting America’s best racing action on its 1,400 plus acres in the scenic Irish Hills. With its 18 degree banking and 73 foot wide sweeping turns, MIS provides drivers with three and four grooves to race around the two-mile speedway.

Originally, MIS opened with a 12,000 seat center grandstand which overlooked the new two mile oval. With smaller grandstands on each side, the track proudly boasted 25,000 seats. However, it was only the beginning.

As per the MIS website, ?the success of the speedway and the growth of Motorsports have made Michigan International Speedway the largest sports arena in Michigan. The center grandstand was extended in 1985, in 1989, and again in 1990 to seat over 27,000. In 1999, a 28,000 seat, 10 1/2-story high structure was added to the center grandstand, increasing the number of seats to 55,000 more than four times its original size.?

On August 20, 2006 the GFS Marketplace 400 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup race at MIS had an announced attendance of 145,000. That?s almost a 100,000 more than was announced at the first Motor State 500 held on June 15, 1969. Cale Yarborough driving the Wood Bros. Mercury held off David Pearson in the Holman and Moody Ford for the win. Yarborough won $17,625 in the inaugural Cup race at MIS. Last year, Matt Kenseth took home the lion?s share of $221,091 that went to the winner of last year?s August event at MIS

Legendary driver David Pearson leads the all time winners list at MIS with 9 wins. Cale Yarborough follows with 8 wins, Bill Elliott with 7 wins and Rusty Wallace with 5 wins. Bobby Allison, Dale Jarrett, Mark Martin and Richard Petty have 4 career wins at MIS. Davey Allison and Bobby Labonte have 3 wins each. Greg Biffle, Dale Earnhardt, Jeff Gorson, Matt Kenseth, Ryan Newman and Darrell Waltrip each have a pair of wins. Buddy Baker, Geoff Bodine, Kurt Busch, Harry Gant, Charlie Glotzbach, Ernie Irvan, Kasey Kahne, Sterling Marlin, Jeremy Mayfield, Benny Parsons, Ricky Rudd and Tony Stewart each have a single victory at the two mile oval.

Tickets are still available for the Citizens Bank 400 on Sunday, June 17, along with all events at MIS during Father’s Day weekend, including the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Michigan 200 on Saturday, June 16 and the ARCA RE/MAX Series Michigan 200 on Friday, June 15.

Fans can purchase tickets by logging on to, or by calling the MIS ticket hotline at (800) 354-1010. The MIS ticket hotline is open from 9:00 A.M. – 9:00 P.M. seven days a week.

Share Button